Shop  |  Calendar  |  Join  |  Buy Tickets  |  Hamnet  |  Site Rental  |  Press Room  
About UsWhat's OnUse the CollectionDiscover ShakespeareTeach & LearnFolger InstituteSupport Us
Folger Theatre

   Sign up for E-news!
   Printer Friendly

The Taming of the Shrew


The Taming of the Shrew
by William Shakespeare

May 1—June 10, 2012


Helen Hayes Awards


Outstanding Resident Play




Outstanding Ensemble, Resident Play


Outstanding Director, Resident Play
Aaron Posner
The Robert Prosky Award for Outstanding Lead Actor, Resident Play
Cody Nickell


Outstanding Lead Actress, Resident Play
Kate Eastwood Norris


The James MacArthur Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor, Resident Play
Danny Scheie
Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Play
Sarah Marshall


Outstanding Supporting Actress, Resident Play
Holly Twyford


Outstanding Sound Design, Resident Production
Cliff Eberhardt, Original Music; and Christopher Baine, Sound Design


Artistic Producer—Janet Griffin
Assistant Artistic Producer—Beth Emelson
General Manager—Giuseppe DeBartolo
Theatre Production Manager—Charles Flye


Production Team
Director—Aaron Posner
Scenic Design—Tony Cisek*
Costume Design—Helen Q. Huang*
Lighting Design—Jennifer Schriever*
Original Music/Musician—Cliff Eberhardt
Sound Design—Christopher Baine

Resident Dramaturg—Michele Osherow
Production Stage Manager—Tim Burt**


Cast (in alphabetical order)
The Widow/ The Haberdasher—Katy Carkuff

The Pedant/ The Bartender—Edward Christian

The Tailor—Rex Daugherty**

The Blind Balladeer—Cliff Eberhardt

Vincentio/The Priest—Dave Gamble

Biondello—James Gardiner**

Lucentio—Thomas Keegan**

Hortensio—Marcus Kyd**

Baptista Minola—Sarah Marshall**

Bianca Minola—Sarah Mollo-Christensen

Petruchio—Cody Nickell**

Katherine Minola—Kate Eastwood Norris**

Grumio—Danny Scheie**

Tranio—Holly Twyford**

Gremio—Craig Wallace**


Petruchio’s Home Servants

Peter Katy Carkuff

Nathaniel Edward Christian

Curtis Rex Daugherty**

Walter Dave Gamble

Rafe James Gardiner**

Sugarsop Sarah Mollo-Christensen



Jonathan W. Colby (Biondello/Rafe/Curtis/Tailor)

Lisa Hodsoll (Baptista/Tranio)

Emily Joshi-Powell (Bianca/Sugarsop/Widow/Haberdasher/Peter)

Pomme Koch (Lucentio/Hortensio)

Marcus Kyd** (Petruchio)

Janel Miley (Katherine)

Scott Alan Small (Grumio/Vincentio/Priest/Walter)

Aaron Tone (Gremio/Pedant/Bartender/Nathaniel)



Assistant Technical Director—Rebekah Sheffer

Casting Assistant—Lisa Forrest

Assistant Director—Cleo House

Assistants to the Director—Katherine Burris, Todd Pivetti

Assistant Stage Manager—Eric Arnold

Production Assistant—Kirsten Parker

Fight Director—Casey Dean Kaleba

Fight Captain—Thomas Keegan

Choreographer—Brianne Camp

Dance Captain—James Gardiner

Dramaturg Assistant—Jessica Clark

Prop Master/ Assistant Set Designer—Daniel da Cruz Pinha

Prop Assistant—Melissa Wunder

Scenery Construction—TSA, Inc

Painters—Mariana Fernandez, Andrea Healy, Luciana Stecconi

Assistant Costume Designer—Kelsey Hunt

Assistants to Costume Designer—Addy Diaz, Rebecca Delapp, Laree Lentz, Collin Ranney, Aryna Petrashenko

Drapers—Krostyne Studio, Steven Simon, Frank Labovitz

Tailor—Emily Hoem

Craft Person—Marie Schneggenburger

Stitchers—Denise Umland, Brandee Mathies, Rose Barbour

Wardrobe Head—Adalia Vera Tonneyck

Assistant Lighting Design—Andrew Dorman

Master Electrician—Jeny Hall

Assistant Master Electricians—Brittany Diliberto, Micah Manning

Electricians—Colin Dieck, Cat Girardi, Peter Goldschmidt, Jeff Porter

Light Board Operator—Karen Bilotti

Sound Head—Matthew M. Nielson

Sound Board Operator—Brandon Roe

Promotional Photography—James Kegley

Production Photography—Carol Pratt

Promotional Video—Heather Daniels, Mark Fastoso

Archival Recording—WAPAVA

Open Captioning—C2 Inc.


† Member of The Stage Directors and Choreographers Society

*Member of United Scenic Artists
**Member of Actors’ Equity Association, the Union of

    Professional Actors and Stage Managers in the United



The Taming of the Shrew

Bookmark and Share   
     Copyright & Policies   |   Sitemap   |   Contact Us   |   About This Site
201 East Capitol Street, SE
Washington, DC 20003
Get directions »

Federal Tax ID #04-2103542
PublicReading Room
10am to 5pm, Monday through Saturday8:45am to 4:45pm, Monday through Friday
12pm to 5pm, Sunday9am to noon and 1pm to 4:30pm, Saturday
Main: 202 544 4600
Box Office: 202 544 7077
Fax: 202 544 4623